The Mo Ibrahim Prize For Outstanding African Leadership Again Fails To Produce A Winner

Organisers of a $5-million prize for former African leaders which aims to shine a spotlight on democracy and outstanding leadership again failed to find a winner after no one met the criteria.

To win the prize, set up by Sudanese telecoms tycoon Mo Ibrahim in 2006, a leader must have been a democratically elected head of state or government and left office in the past three years, serving only their constitutionally mandated term.

He or she must have shown outstanding leadership in developing their countries and lifting people out of poverty.

The seven-member prize committee did not select a winner for the 2015 award, the Mo Ibrahim Foundation said in a statement on Thursday.

Since being launched in 2006, the Ibrahim Prize has only been awarded four times – to Mozambique’s Joaquim Alberto Chissano, Botswana’s Festus Gontebanye Mogae, Cape Verde’s Pedro De Verona Rodrigues Pires and Namibia’s Hifikepunye Pohamba. South Africa’s Nelson Mandela was awarded an honorary prize in 2007. Read more on this story.